Passengers From Selected Countries To Use e-gates At UK Borders

Chancellor Philip Hammond has confirmed that from June 2019, citizens from some countries will be allowed to use e-gates at UK borders.

He also said that paper landing cards for those citizens would be dropped at the same time.

Currently, the gates which scan e-passports are reserved for European Economic Area citizens but Heathrow Airport called for the government to allow passengers from “low-risk” countries to use e-gates.

Citizens from the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Japan, Singapore and South Korea will be able to use e-gates at UK airports and Eurostar terminals, alongside the EEA nationals who can already use them.